ECHC 2016

Online registration is still open! REGISTER NOW!

Media Partner

Springer Heterocyclic Chemistry Award 2016

Springer logo

The Springer Heterocyclic Chemistry Award 2016 has been given to Jérôme Waser from the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) for his exceptional research achievements. Waser has contributed significantly to the advancement of multiple areas of heterocyclic chemistry, and his highly original work has already had an impact in academia and industry. The award will be presented at the European Colloquium on Heterocyclic Chemistry on Wednesday July 6, 2016.

Jérôme Waser completed his Ph.D. at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) in Zurich and from there he went on to postdoctoral research at Stanford University. Since 2007 he has worked at the EPFL, first as Assistant Professor and from 2014 as Associate Professor in Organic Chemistry. Waser’s work is diverse and encompasses the use of reactive heterocycles (benziodoxol(on)es) for the development of new reactions in organic chemistry, the C-H functionalization of heterocycles, and the synthesis of heterocycles via cyclization and annulation reactions.

The Springer Heterocyclic Chemistry Award was created by Springer and the series editors of the book series Topics in Heterocyclic Chemistry. The award is presented every four years to an outstanding independent academic researcher working in the field of heterocyclic chemistry. To be considered, candidates should hold an assistant, associate or full professorship at a university or research institute and be 45 years or younger in the year in which the award is presented. All aspects of heterocyclic chemistry, including experimental and theoretical work, are eligible.

The editorial board of the series Topics in Heterocyclic Chemistry issued the following statement: “It is our pleasure to announce Jérôme Waser as the winner of the Springer Heterocyclic Chemistry Award 2016. Waser is pursuing highly creative research towards the development of new synthetic methods, particularly those employing hypervalent iodine derivatives for the preparation of a variety of heterocycles with applications to synthesis of natural products and/or bioactive compounds.”

The award winner receives a travel grant to attend the European Colloquium on Heterocyclic Chemistry at which he or she holds a special lecture. In addition, there is a €1,000 cash prize and a lifelong online subscription to Topics in Heterocyclic Chemistry.

Springer is part of Springer Nature, one of the world’s leading global research, educational and professional publishers, home to an array of respected and trusted brands providing quality content through a range of innovative products and services. Springer Nature is the world’s largest academic book publisher, publisher of the world’s most influential journals and a pioneer in the field of open research. The company numbers almost 13,000 staff in over 50 countries and has a turnover of approximately EUR 1.5 billion. Springer Nature was formed in 2015 through the merger of Nature Publishing Group, Palgrave Macmillan, Macmillan Education and Springer Science+Business Media. Find out more:


Organised by

Under the Auspices of

With the support of


Media Partners

Copyright 2024 LD Organisation  |  rue Michel de Ghelderode 33/02 B-1348  Louvain-la-Neuve (Belgium)  Tel. +32 10 454777  |   |  VAT: BE 0464819842
Developed and powered by Antalys