The Janssen Pharmaceutica Prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis

Prof. Eric M. Jacobsen (Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA) has been designated by the Jury as the winner of the 2010 ‘Janssen Pharmaceutica Prize for Creativity in Organic Chemistry’. The award will be delivered after the lecture Prof. Jacobsen will give at the symposium on Thursday July 15

The Janssen Pharmaceutica Prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis (formerly Dr Paul Janssen Prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis) was established in 1986 on the occasion of the first Belgian Organic Synthesis Symposium (BOSS). It is intended to honour Dr. Paul Janssen, founder of Janssen Pharmaceutica.

The Prize is awarded on a biannual basis, on the occasion of the BOSS, to a chemist under the age of 50 who has made a significant contribution to the field of organic synthesis in the broadest sense. The Prize consists of a trophy, a citation, and 20.000 Euros. The laureate of the Prize is expected to deliver a lecture at the BOSS Meeting.

The jury is made up of Prof. P. De Clercq (president), Dr. Lieven Meerpoel (secretary), Prof. J Barluenga, Prof. F. Diederich, Prof. P Kociensky, Prof. J.M. Lehn, Prof. Y. Markò, Prof. S. Zard (members).

The Janssen Pharmaceutica Prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis (formerly Dr Paul Janssen Prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis) will be awarded every other year by Johnson and Johnson Pharmaceutical Research and Development, on the occasion of the Belgian Organic Synthesis Symposium to an organic chemist, who has contributed original ideas to organic synthesis. The prize consists of a medal, a citation as well as 20.000 Euros.

Any nomination of scientists of public or private Universities, or Government Institutes or of industrial laboratories, can be taken into consideration with the following limitations :
• the prize cannot be given twice to the same person or persons
• members of the Committee cannot be candidates, nor can they propose candidates
• candidates who have been introduced three times without success cannot be accepted again, except for a different work
• candidates should not be older than 50 years of age at the moment the Prize is attributed.

Nomination Procedure
• The Janssen Pharmaceutica Prize will be announced in the scientific press.
• Any scientist competent in the field may make nominations, but a candidate cannot propose himself.
• Nominations must be made using the attached form and sent by e-mail to the secretary of the jury, Dr. Lieven Meerpoel, at  together with the Curriculum vitae, the published papers and two supporting letters.
• Deadline for nominations: 31 December 2009.
• Nominations are confidential.

The Janssen Pharmaceutica Prize Committee is composed of the President and six members, competent in the field of organic chemistry. The President is appointed for six years and cannot be reelected.
Two members of the Committee are replaced every other year by cooptation of two new members, taking into account seniorship and geographical distribution. At least one member of the Committee will be of Belgian nationality or full time employed in Belgium.
The Committee votes by mail. The decision of the Committee will be submitted to Johnson&Johnson PRD who will approve and formally announce the name of the laureate.

=> Nomination form (Word) (19/11/2009 - 46 KB)
Awardees of the Paul Janssen Prize for Creativity in Organic Synthesis

2008  Fürstner A. (Max-Planck Institut für Kohlenforschung, Germany)
2004  Knochel P. (Ludwig-Maximilians-University, Munich, Germany)
2002  Boger D. (Scripps Institute, La Jolla, USA)
2000  Diederich F. (ETH Zürich, Zürich, Switzerland)
1998  Curran D.P. (University of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA)
1996  Ley S.V., F.R.S. (University of Cambridge, Cambridge, UK)
1994  Nicolaou K.C. (The Scripps Research Institute and University of California at San Diego, La Jolla, USA)
1992  Magnus P.D. (Texas University, Austin, USA)
1990  Trost B.M. (Stanford University, California, USA)
1988  Baldwin J.E. (Oxford University, Oxford, UK)
1986  Sharpless K.B. (MIT, Cambridge, USA)